Groove pop with an electronic edge from Denton, TX, 

" of the best songs of the year." -Huffington Post

Contact:, 203-314-8006
Press Contact: Bill Benson, Team Clermont.
TOMKAT One Sheet Download
  Photo by Lyrics and Lenses

Photo by Lyrics and Lenses


For TOMKAT, a band based out of Denton, Texas whose work spends much of its time buried in the grey areas between pop, jazz, rock and dance music, the idea of coordinating complex sounds and musical meters is at the heart of their cross-genre investigations. Led by the haunting croon and ache of Katrina Cain’s voice, as well as the dynamic rhythmic interplay that exists within the band, TOMKAT are looking to express their native pop and electronic instincts without sacrificing their evolved temperament to the confines of a modern musical marketplace. Drawn from all areas of the country, the band was founded in 2015 by vocalist Katrina Cain (Connecticut), guitarist Andrew McMillan (El Paso), bassist Mike Luzecky (St. Louis) and drummer Jonny Harmon (Columbus) who first met as students at the University of North Texas.

TOMKAT's full length album, Icarus, was recorded in July of 2016 with Tanner Landry of Fort Worth Sound, though the music had been written and sat waiting for over a year prior. Cain, McMillan, Luzecky and Harmon had longed for a more electronic element than their current sound possessed, and found those pulsating and metronomic sounds with Trenton Hull (synthesizer), who joined the band for just one show and a handful of rehearsals prior to jumping with both feet into the studio. The songs on the album ebb and flow, with "Drowning" beating a dance pop spasm into your feet and others, like "Phoenix" soaring through your tired mind. No song should be taken more lightly than the other, however, as Cain's surprisingly dark lyrics attempt to convey the emotional and psychological issues surrounding the female experience through the ages. While "Teardrops" calls to mind a slow jam complete with '90s style vocal harmony, listen closely to the lyrics and you'll hear a woman struggling with crippling failure beneath a mask of smiles. Similarly, "Persephone's" hauntingly beautiful chords belie the true meaning, a story of incurable desire told not by the victim but by her abductor. Though the album is fraught with darkness and despair, the group keeps returning to a singular theme that blooms from the darkness with every track, ending in "Phoenix" resounding chorus: "Once and for all, I rise; Once and for all, I'll fly."

Awards and Recognition

  • Voted first runner up for KXT 91.7's Listener Favorite of 2017
  • Official SXSW 2108 Artist
  • Placement in James Franco film project, Actors Anonymous, projected 2016 release
  • "Best Electronic Act"- Dallas Ghost of Blind Lemon blog awards, 2015
  • Feature in Texas Lifestyle Magazine as a band to watch, Fall 2016

Venues Played

  • Dallas/Fort Worth:
    • The Bomb Factory (Dallas)
    • Trees (Dallas)
    • The Underpass (Dallas) 
    • Sundown at Granada (Dallas)
    • Club Dada (Dallas)
    • Sons of Hermann Hall (Dallas)
    • The Prophet Bar (Dallas) 
    • Lola's Saloon (Fort Worth)
    • Harvest House (Denton)
    • Dan's Silverleaf (Denton)
    • Abbey Underground (Denton) 
    • Andy's Bar (Denton)
    • Backyard on Bell (Denton)
  • Austin: 
    • Official SXSW Artist of 2018
    • Swan Dive
    • Firehouse Lounge (Music Saves Lives SXSW Showcase)
    • Cheers Shot Bar (BalconyTV SXSW Showcase)
    • Brass House
  • Houston: 
    • Warehouse Live
    • Axelrad's
    • Superhappy Funland
    • Springboard South Music Festival 
  • San Antonio
    • Jack's Bar
  • Baton Rouge, LA
    • Spanish Moon

Live videos:

 Photo by Lyrics and Lenses

Photo by Lyrics and Lenses




"Simply put, 'Teardrops' is one of the best songs of the year." -Huffington Post
" "We’re just tickled pink to know there’s an elegant new star blooming brightly in the Little D firmament, and that the rest of the world is following suit." -KXT 91.7
"The music is lush and gorgeous, tapping  jazz, pop, rock and EDM influences." -PASTE Magazine
"Drowning” is a nice change of pace from the myriad of other female-fronted synth pop songs out there; it sets Tomkat apart from the crowd."  -Surviving The Golden Age
By mixing pop, rock and R&B with technology, the quartet produces a unique electronic sound that makes TOMKAT a popular act both in Denton’s live music venues and on Dallas-area radio stations.- Texas Lifestyle Magazine, Fall 2016
Her voice melts on top of the textured electronics to create a slicked up pop dreamscape. - Better Know An Artist, Vol. 34